GMS, SMS, and WMS User Forum
Sign in to follow this  
PM_2009

problem creating the 2d-grid in WMS 8.2!

Hi!

I’m a newbie with the GSSHA and trying to run GSSHA simulation, but get nowhere with creating a 2D-grid with the Create Grid command. I’m using WMS version 8.2

I’m following instructions in

http://www.gsshawiki.com/gssha/Tutorials:1...low_Model_Setup

I have a 25 m resolution DEM, and I have run the TOPAZ, created the basin and stream arcs, and made a polygon from the basin.

In Greate Grid window (after selecting the basin polygon), I have chosen a base cell size of 25m. Then I have chosen “interpolate from DEM” in the next prompt.

Instead of even grid, I get grid with cells that are 25 m wide but 1287 m “tall”. When I try to run GSSHA (after defining precipitation etc.), I get error: “The grid size specified in the project file 24,…m differs from the north-south dimension of the raster grid cells 1287,… m as calculated from the Watershed_Mask header. Check your data to make sure they agree.”

My DEM is of a very flat area, which has caused some problems before, but I don’t think the problem is with my DEM because I have the same problem when using DEMs from the tutorial file. Furthermore, I have managed to create the 2D-grid just fine from this DEM using WMS 8.1. Maybe there is something wrong with grid settings? I don’t remember touching any of the grid settings, but is there a way to return all settings to their original form?

I would be most grateful for any help anyone could give!

-Pirkko M.-

Hi Pirkko,