GMS, SMS, and WMS User Forum
Fahad

Steps for running a tuflow simulation

Fahad    0

I am quite new to SMS. I am trying to run a tuflow simulation over my study location. I have the DEM, landcover files for that area. Could anyone tell me the main steps in SMS that I have to do to run the simulation.

calberts    0

Hi Fahad,

Thank you for your interest in SMS. There are links to TUFLOW tutorials and tutorial data files at: http://www.aquaveo.com/software/sms-learning-tutorials

I would recommend starting with the "TUFLOW 2D" tutorial which will walk you through the steps to create a TUFLOW grid using elevation data. SMS supports many raster formats, so depending on the format of your DEM and whether it is one of the compatible formats, you may be able to use it directly to assign elevations to the TUFLOW grid.

Best of luck,

calberts 

Fahad    0
On 9/12/2016 at 5:54 PM, calberts said:

Hi Fahad,

Thank you for your interest in SMS. There are links to TUFLOW tutorials and tutorial data files at: http://www.aquaveo.com/software/sms-learning-tutorials

I would recommend starting with the "TUFLOW 2D" tutorial which will walk you through the steps to create a TUFLOW grid using elevation data. SMS supports many raster formats, so depending on the format of your DEM and whether it is one of the compatible formats, you may be able to use it directly to assign elevations to the TUFLOW grid.

Best of luck,

calberts 

Thanks a lot for your reply. I have successfully done that tutorial.

My another question is I have coastal bathymetry file for New Jersey. As well as the DEM for New Jersey. Do I need to mosaic them into single file. Or it is not necessary to use bathymatry elevation file.

calberts    0

Fahad,