Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
vztkiers

AdH steady state strategy

3 posts in this topic

Hi !

I am relatively new to SMS and to AdH. I model a complex meandering river and overland flow situation. My model is 25 km long and combines parallel rivers in an extreme flood event (steady state). The floods cover the whole width of the valley (3.5 km) in many sections.

I believe that I have been able to create a reasonable good mesh.

I run a steady state simulation, I am into the first couple of hours of my calculation with these BC settings:

IP MIT 200
IP NIT 1
IP NTL 0.01
IP ITL 0.01

TC STD 0.1 10.0

I allow for mesh refinement, for my riverbeds are really steep. This means that my mesh has quality issues of the “Maximum Slope” kind. Other issues I corrected, and I hope the mesh refinements by AdH will refine and handle these slope issues. I actually started with 290500 nodes, the model now runs with 320300 nodes.
I set the IP NIT to 1, for I had issues with extreme and sudden time step reduction (factor 10000) during non-linear iteration steps. Setting the IP NIT to 1 solved this for the moment.
AdH is calculating currently and will calculate for a while to come.

I have basically identified three parameters to change in my BC file to make the calculation converge to the steady state solution.

1. I will at one point have to reduce the NTL and ITL (AdH will state it has converged to a solution).
  2. I will at one point allow for non-linear iterations, moving to IP NIT 6
  3. I can allow for bigger maximum time steps in the TD STD card

How should I prioritize between these parameters? Will anyone help me by sharing his or her experiences?

My dilemma is that If I allow for a bigger time step, my model might fail to converge, while if I decrease NTL and ITL, I do produce betters solutions, but that seems to be at the cost of calculation time.