GMS, SMS, and WMS User Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Waverly

Master Plan modeling with WMS

I am working on a master drainage project for a city and I'm looking for some tips and suggestions for how to most efficiently use WMS. I am somewhat new to the program and I'm not quite sure how to accomplish what I want to model. Mostly, I will need to model master drainage channels and large storm drain pipes within the watershed. What is the best, most efficient way to input this data? We would also like to model the major culvert passings and road embankments. To further complicate things we are only modeling a portion of the city and there is another city uphill of this one whose drainage facilities come into our portion. Is there a way to add this data as inflow points on the boundary of the watershed (our boundary will be drawn at the city line)? The watershed is on the scale of 100 sq. miles in a relatively flat, urban area. Thanks in advance for any suggestions given!

Waverly,

I think you can do almost everything you need using the EPA SWMM and the SWMM interface in WMS. The smartest way to setup your model would be to bring in any pipe, channel, and watershed boundary lines into WMS and then convert this data to arcs/polygons in the Storm Drain coverage (lines) and the Drainage coverage (polygons) in the WMS map module. You can read this data as GIS shapefiles or as CAD data (DXF, DWG, or DGN format). If you have the pipes in a GIS, you can read the pipe lengths, slopes, invert elevations, and other attributes into WMS and these parameters will be automatically exported to your EPA SWMM model. There's an EPA SWMM tutorial on our WMS learning center that steps you through the process of creating a SWMM model for a small subdivision.