tamim

AdH for Beginners

6 posts in this topic

I've been using WMS for several years but I am new user of SMS, specifically, the AdH program implementation.

Recalling that the learning curve is pretty substantial from my experience with WMS, I've gone through a similar self-taught process of going through the SMS and AdH User Manuals, Learning Center tutorials, video and SMS Wiki.

I did follow the AdH Intro tutorial and successfully setup the model and executed it. However, after 1 hour of simulation time (out of the 36 hour) and a run-time of 3 hours, I aborted. The tutorial indicates that depending on the speed of your computer, the model will finish in 1 - 2 hours. My laptop is a Dell Latitude, 16 GB RAM, Intel Core i7 processor with plenty of disk space. Is this a hardware limitation or an issue of computational settings (which I left to default just like the tutorial)?

The above resources helped me setup my model. I imported a AutoCAD .dwg file and created scatter points from the contours & created a mesh, which turned out to be extremely dense due to the excessive vertex points SMS generated as a result of the AutoCAD contour vertices. So as an alternative, I manually defined scatter points along known elevations/contours at a less refined spacing. I generated a mesh which looked much better in terms of shapes and density.

I was able to define the materials designated on the basis of channel, overbanks, and paved surfaces and correspondingly defined the boundaries based on these designated areas. I created nodestrings to define the upstream and downstream boundary conditions as Total Discharge and Water Surface Elevations, respectively, that varied for a 6 hour simulation. I created the AdH Hot Start (depth/elevation).