GMS, SMS, and WMS User Forum
ashmitas

Help needed with CE-QUAL W2

Hi, I am new to the WMS- CE-QUAL W2. I followed the instructions in Using TINs tutorial to import a bathymetry file, convert it to TIN, and then triangulate the TIN. All measurements are in meters. From there, I followed tutorial #9 for CE-QUAL W2 set up. However, during step 9.2 : branch identification, in the select the "Get lengths and orientation of branch segments tool" I get an error message: could not assign length and orientation for segment XX.

Also, it seems there are multiple segments with the same number assigned to them (this was not the case right after creating the segments). These segments though have different areas assigned to them.

Looking for help on how to proceed on assigning length and orientation. And in case someone has pointers on more detailed tutorials, and other help, it'll be much appreciated.

Thanks

Ashmitas,

When you're using the "Get lengths and orientation of branch segments" tool, that error message comes up if you do not have 2 intersections for each of the segments in one of your branches. I recommend finding the segment that's giving you grief and make sure you are crossing this segment in two locations (no more, no less) when your trace the flow path in your branch. If you're not intersecting the segment polygon in 2 locations, this is why you're getting the error. If you are, there might be something else wrong that's more complicated. In this case, contact the tech support guys and they should be able to help.

I'm not sure why you're getting the duplicate segment numbers. You should always select the option to map segments to branches before using the segment length/orientation tool. I'd also assign your most upstream segments to your branches. After you're done with the tool and you don't get any errors, you can renumber your segments and the duplicate segment numbers should go away.