GMS, SMS, and WMS User Forum
Zahrab

pumping well in Clay/silt or sand layer in MODFLOW and FEMWATER

Dear all

I am new with GMS. and have trouble modeling multiple pumping well to see the total drawdown.

I have three layer of clay, silt and sand. I wanna see how much water I should pump and from which layer to get certain drawdown. so I worked backward. giving discharge I checked the result drawdown.

I am interested to use wellpoint system in the silt layer (instead of deep well in sand layer)

now the question is, why in modflow I can assign any discharge to the well? I expected MODFLOW to give error saying because of low pearmiability this much discharge is not possible to be taken from clay/silt.

but that's not the case. any discharge I put in, the modele solve the problem and give me drawdown for it!

I used FEMWATER as well, for the same question, and it also solve for any discharge I define!!!

That looks wiered to me this can't recognize the layer can't provid a lot water?!!

any help is highly appreciated,

Zara

Thanks for replyin.

I have a layer of clay with .0003 ft/min and silt with 0.003 ft/min. there is one layer sand underneath with 0.012 ft/min.

at 1000ft distance I have constant head at all direction. those are the only BC I have.

as an example here I have about 40 well in two top layer with discharge of 12GPM/well which means about 480 GPM !!!

I know from silt layer it's not possible to get that much water, but my model adjust itself for every discharge I define and give me high drawdown instead.

actually in my LPF package, all the layer are mentioned convertible.

I made my model getting help from Tutorial:"MODFLOW- Conceptual model approach".

Thank you guys for helping me. I wish I could post an image of the results here.

layer 1 is clay, from +25ft to -19ft, k= 0003 ft/min

layer 2 is silt, from -19ft to -83ft, k= 0.003 ft/min.

layer 3 is sand from -83ft to -175ft, k= 0.012 ft/min.