GMS, SMS, and WMS User Forum
azahrafa

RMA2 or ADCIRC?

Hello, I'm a student and currently learning to use SMS. I'm using it to simulate sedimentation in an estuary. There are some questions I'd like to ask.

What's the difference between RMA2 and ADCIRC? And if the study location is in an estuary in a small strait where the waves are not very strong, and the depth of the location I’m observing range from 0-50 meters would it be appropriate to use RMA2? Or would ADCIRC be more appropriate?

Thank you,

Azahrafa

Both RMA2 and ADCIRC are finite element schemes but have their own strengths and weaknesses. RMA2 has better boundary conditions for river inflows but if you keep your boundary conditions far from the area of interest it isn't that big of a deal.

RMA2 can have long timesteps but each takes longer to compute than an ADCIRC timestep so the overall runtime is probably generally comparable.

ADCIRC works really well in coastal situations and many models run clear out to very deep water where boundary conditions are simple. However, you can also use it in smaller areas. ADCIRC is easier to add wind forcing.

Both models can be a little troublesome if there is a lot of wetting and drying. If this is the case in your situation, you may consider SRH which uses the generic model interface and is more stable in this situation.

I'm not sure how you are going to do sedimentation but if you are planning to use PTM it is a little easier to setup in ADCIRC because PTM reads its file formats natively while you have to convert your output to use RMA2.

You really should be able to use either model in this situation.

Hello, I'm a student and currently learning to use SMS. I'm using it to simulate sedimentation in an estuary. There are some questions I'd like to ask.