GMS, SMS, and WMS User Forum
sukark

Calibrating & validating a Tuflow model

Hello everyone!!

I am trying to learn and know how to calibrate and validate a 2D TUFLOW model, after the simulation is run. I have daily averaged discharge and water level data for 4 months which i used to run the simulation. Now my aim is to calibrate and validate this model. But how to do this??I am new to this world and don know much and have idea about doing this properly. So i need your suggestions, informations and support.

Thanks

Hi Sukark,

There are some tools in SMS that you can use to obtain numbers to compare with. The primary thing you need from SMS is to extract time-series data for the places you have you calibration data. This is done using the observation coverage. Profile plots will give plots of datasets at specific times along an arc, time-series plots will give plots through time of water surface at a point or flowrates across an arc. There is a tutorial on the observation coverage but unfortunately, it is geared towards steady state models. However, you may want to look at it as it does have a small section on time-series plots.

You can create transient measurements and put the observation data into them and show them on the time-series plot. You can also get the data into a spreadsheet program for comparison. To do this right-click on the plot and choose the command that is something along the lines of "view data." You can copy/paste using Ctrl-C/Ctrl-V to get the data into your spreadsheet software. Once there, you can create plots or analysis using spreadsheet tools.

I hope this helps.

Hello everyone!!